Perak Turf Club - Malaysia Three-Year-Old Championship

Malaysia Three-Year-Old Championship

To encourage the importation of quality young horses into the country, the three Malaysian clubs are pleased to announce the re-launch of the Malaysian Three-Year-Old Championship for three years beginning in 2017.


The aim of staging the Malaysian Three-Year-Old Championship after a lapse of two years is to boost the horse population, making racing more competitive across the board and in feature races. This will in turn generate greater interest and increase the turnover.


When the Malaysian Three-Year-Old Championship was first held for three years from 2012 to 2014, the series produced some of the best gallopers seen in the country in recent times.


Six heats, worth RM90,000 each, were staged at the three clubs before the qualified horses met in the championship final which offered RM200,000 in prizemoney.


The inaugural winner Colin The Firth, which is still racing today, won a total of six races and was second to Good Baby in the Perak Gold Vase in 2012. The Australian gelding was third to Joe Czarina in the same race the following year.


Colin The Firth was purchased for just A$12,500 at the Magic Millions Horses-In-Training Sale, and has earned close to RM650,000 in prize money. A true rags-to-riches tale.


The 2013 winner Ghost Street went on to finish third to Mystic Power in the RM1 million Malaysian Magic Millions Classic the same year. The Australian gelding picked up five wins in total before retiring last year.


Black And White, the 2014 winner, has been a money-spinner for his connections, having won 14 races todate. And he cost just A$11,000 at the Magic Millions Horses-In-Training Sale.


The Australian gelding was second to Mystic Power in the RM1 million Malaysian Magic Millions Classic in 2013 before his big win in 2014. The following year, he finished

third to Balotelli in Tunku Gold Cup.


Balotelli, which was second to Black And White in the 2014 Three-Year-Old Championship final, went on to claim the Perak Gold Vase in 2015. The New Zealand gelding won one of the heats in 2014 and has won six races in all.


Some of the more notable names which emerged during this period include Feisty Leo, which at nine years, is still matching with the best, having finished fourth to Fortunique in the Perak Derby just this month. Winner of a heat in 2012, Feisty Leo has nine wins to his name.


Pisces Star, a heat winner in 2014, has chalked up 11 wins and his last success in the William Inglis & Son Trophy in Penang last December.


Triple One D’Best, the final heat winner in 2014, has won seven races, chalking up back-to-back wins last October.


Last year, three Three-Year-Old Special Stakes races worth RM100,000 each were staged at the three clubs with Wonderful Surprise winning over 1,200m in the first race at Sungei Besi. The American gelding has four wins to date.


Showboy won the second race in Ipoh to make it four consecutive wins. The New Zealand gelding returned to form last month to bring his record to five wins from 10 starts.


For the third Special Stakes winner Ivanhoe, his owner Dato Tan Chin Nam decided to ship him to Singapore to continue racing after chalking up three wins and a second from just four starts in Malaysia.


Three heats, all run over 1200m and offering RM100,000 in prizemoney each, will be staged in the re-launched Malaysian Three-Year-Old Championship.


The first heat will be held in Ipoh on 21st May, followed by the second in Penang on 11th June and the third at Sungei Besi on 25th June.


The Selangor Turf Club will have the honour of hosting the 2017 final on 15th July. Nomination for the Championship will close on 9th May. Entries closing date will be as per the scheduled respective meeting’s programme.


For more information, please visit the respective club’s websites:

Date Added: 2017-04-19 08:24AM :: Last Updated: 2017-04-19 08:29AM